Life Twist – Part 2

Assalamu’alaikum,

So, what’s your plan now, Vin?

Some of you might be wondering right now, you left your job, withdrew from your study, you must’ve had a very good plan already, right?

The answer is both yes and no. I am currently in the midst of contemplating the purpose of my life and how my future path would look like. Although I can’t determine the later, I know that I need to justify the first one.

I’ve been watching tons of videos on Youtube, they were as random as they get, really. I watched health food documentaries (Food Matters, Food Over Knives, FSND), Bayinnah lectures (Ust. Nouman Ali Khan and Ust. Omar Sulaiman), recipes (Laura in the Kitchen and Maangchi! ), fitness inspirations, and after many videos later.

It was not until I found a very catching video titled Aku Akan Berubah, it was by Ust. Syafiq Riza Basalamah and Teuku Wisnu as the MC.

You can watch it here :

It was about the real purpose of life and how I, as a Muslim, should always keep on endeavouring to be a better practicing Muslim day by day. Not the other way around. The Ustadh reminded us that our sole purpose in life is to keep our covenant to Allah SWT by stay away from what’s been forbidden, and do what’s been ordered.

So, Vin? Why does it matter with the first question on this post?

“Even 500 years before we born, Allah SWT had predestined our Rizki but our good deeds are for us to work upon”

That was said on one of the videos that I watched, and it hits home.

Why are you so worried about the future, Vin? When you are not even capable to control what’s about to happen in 1 hour. As close as that.

That’s when I decided to focus on the inner forces rather than outer forces. As what I read on Yasmin Mogahed’s Reclaim Your Happiness . We should be busy bettering ourselves rather than thinking about things that we can’t change. Yes, the things we can’t ever change are the outer forces. Like Ustadha Yasmin said on the book, you can’t complain on getting soaked up in the rain , but you can open up your umbrella, you can’t control the weather, but you are gifted with a clear mind to find out how to not get wet. That’s the analogy.

So, what’s the answer, Vin?

Hold on.

To be honest with you, I still don’t know the exact answer. I had longlisted multiple choices without an answer sheet to look at. But here are what’s been going in and out through my mind. And some that had been decided, for now. InshaAllah.

I’ve decided to go to Taiwan to learn Mandarin for a year. As I said on the previous post, I might not yet know where this would lead me to. But I believe that like books, languages are also the window through the world. And more importantly, it’s what my father had requested me to, so it would never go wrong.

Maybe, there will be a streetfood that gives me an idea for a business startup, or  a new friend that will lead me closer to my dream, or any clue, really.

I don’t know whether I’ll be a Chef at a five stars hotel or have my very own little restaurant that I’ve been dreaming about for years. Whether I’ll work as a hotelier or be busy thinking about an idea for a new menu at my restaurant. I don’t know. Or maybe I’ll be busy drafting for my first own recipe book?

It could even be none of the above. But I always pray that it’d be something that lead me closer to Allah SWT, not one that will get me too attached to Dunya.

So, Entreprenurship or a career?

Both ends are good and have their own pros and cons. So whatever it might be, I believe that it’d the very best that Allah had chosen for me.

Although it might matter a lot to most of us to realise our dream. Always remember that Dunya is like a resting area in the middle of a highway. It is not your real journey, so don’t spend too much of your time there that you forget about your real destination.

He knows that behind each false door is a drop. And if we enter it, we will fall. In His mercy, He keeps those false doors closed.- M, Yasmin.

Leave a Reply

